skip to main content

Lampasas Middle School

Lampasas Middle School

Jennifer Diaz Ruby

School Psychologist
Department of Special Services
Phone: 512-556-3101
What is an Educational Disability?

What is an Educational Disability?

34 Code of Federal Regulations § 300.8  Child with a disability. 

(a) General. 
   (1) Child with a disability means a child evaluated in accordance with §§300.304 through 300.311 as having an intellectual disability, a hearing impairment (including deafness), a speech or language impairment, a visual impairment (including blindness), a serious emotional disturbance (referred to in this part as ‘‘emotional disturbance’’ ), an orthopedic impairment, autism, traumatic brain injury, an other health impairment, a specific learning disability, deaf-blindness, or multiple disabilities, and who, by reason thereof, needs special education and related services.
Texas uses the following list of disability categories, based on IDEA, to determine if a student (aged 3-21) is eligible for special education and related services:
  • Auditory Impairment (AI)
  • Autism (AU)
  • Deaf-Blindness (DB)
  • Emotional Disturbance (ED)
  • Intellectual Disability (ID) (formerly called Mental Retardation)
  • Multiple Disabilities (MD)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI)
  • Other Health Impairment (OHI)
  • Learning Disability (LD)
  • Speech Impairment (SI)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Visual Impairment (VI)
  • Non-Categorical Early Childhood (NCEC)